‘I Know What You Did Last Summer’ Reboot In The Making | By Haider Rifaat

Get excited horror fans! The 1997 horror/slasher film ‘I Know What You Did Last Summer’ is set for a 2016 reboot by Sony Pictures. The film is based on the 1973 novel of the same name. Most recently, Mike Flangan, the co-writer of ‘Occulus’, had been recruited for the project.

He tweeted: Happy to be writing a new “I Know What You Did Last Summer.” (I’m NOT, however, directing or producing… Not sure where that came from).’

Now that sounds like a good idea! I know most people have watched this cult classic slasher film and for those who haven’t, I put all my bets on it. It’s a must watch. The reboot is scheduled for a release in 2016 and will be distributed by Sony Pictures. Neal H. Mortiz, the producer of the film, is on board for the project as well.

I Know What You Did Last SummerThe original cast of the film included the Emmy Award winning actress, Sarah Michelle Gellar, the Golden Globe Award nominee Jennifer Love Hewitt, Freddie Prinze Jr. and Ryan Philippe. The initial plot of the film evolved around five friends who cover up a deadly hit and run. ‘I Know What You Did Last Summer’ grossed over 125 million at the box office and was declared a hit overall.

It was subsequently nominated for several awards such as a Saturn Award and an MTV Movie Award. The film spawned two sequels ‘I Still Know What You Did Last Summer’ and ‘I’ll Always Know What You Did Last Summer’ in years 1998 and 2006 respectively. I, for one, would love to see Sony Pictures produce a reboot of ‘I Know What You Did Last Summer. But wouldn’t it be great if the original cast of the film was recruited for the reboot as well? In any case, I’m eagerly anticipating the film in the coming years.

Leave a Reply

