‘American Horror Story’, A Strange Yet Exciting TV Show | Haider Rifaat

When I first heard about the horror television series ‘American Horror Story’, I thought it would be yet another supernatural drama with monotonous storylines that date back to ‘The Exorcist’ days. Nonetheless, I decided to give this series a chance and honestly speaking, it is quite gripping! After watching the first few episodes of the first season, I came to realize how eerily they had been written and directed. Much to my utter dismay, I gave up on the show but it was until I heard about ‘American Horror Story: Asylum’ from one of my friends.

He tried coaxing me into seeing the second season but I had my own reservations. However, I felt compelled to watch it after seeing the trailer. Surprisingly, after watching the second season, I felt as if the storyline had been stretched to a whole new level. ‘American Horror Story: Asylum’ was quite a compelling season. It had a lot of plot twists and secrets that I had no idea of! I am not a huge fan of supernatural television shows but the exorcism showcased in one of season two’s episodes was the winner!

AmericanHorrorStoryFreakShow-1024x576

Lily Rabe delivered a fantastic performance as an evil nun. Sarah Paulson, on the other hand, did her character justice and was the spotlight of the season. After I had finished watching the second season, the show was eventually renewed for a third season entitled ‘American Horror Story: Coven.’ I knew that the directors and writers would be turning tables for the third season. The plot was entirely different from the previous two seasons. It was a good watch overall! The spotlight of ‘Coven’ was unquestionably Jessica Lange who delivered a spectacular performance throughout the entire season. I found ‘American Horror Story’ rather uncanny when I first started watching it but with time, it became one of my favorite television shows. Its peculiarity is what makes it so special. Undoubtedly, the show takes the horror genre to a much grander level.

I am really looking forward to seeing ‘American Horror Story: Freak Show.’ The writers of the show are quite experimental when it comes to the plots. It is a good thing they come up with innovative ideas for every season. I am eagerly waiting for the season four premiere of ‘Freak Show.’ With new additions to the cast, I bet it would be a fun ride for all the fans of ‘American Horror Story.

Leave a Reply

