Why You Have Got To See ‘Bates Motel’ | Haider Rifaat

So, it was Friday night and I was hoping to see something different from the usual stuff that is shown on television. I came across a series that seemed quite catchy solely by its title. The show is called Bates Motel and is based on the 1987 film ‘Psycho’ starring Anthony Perkins as Norman Bates. I must say, Psycho was a twisted thriller that was cleverly plotted out. I recently purchased season one of Bates Motel and frankly speaking, the show is pretty good!

The series stars Vera Farmiga who is a great actress in my opinion and the fresh faced, Freddie Highmore who has a bright future in film and television. I don’t know about all of you but Freddie Highmore is perfect for the role of Norman Bates in the series. His facial features resemble so much to that of Anthony Perkins. I have seen three episodes of the series so far and I’m hooked! I must say, ‘Bates Motel’ has become one of my latest obsessions of late and I recommend the readers to tune into the show. The series is unpredictable when it comes to the shocking twists and turns and that is mainly what I look up to in a television show these days.

14-0228A_BatesMotelS2_G+_cover_1080x608_FINThe twisted yet unexpected storylines of the show keep you hooked until the end of every episode. No one should trust any character in the series as everyone puts on a good face that can easily deceive any fan. Nowadays there are many series’ that are following the neo-noir format such as ‘Pretty Little Liars’ and ‘Devious Maids.’

In addition, the shooting location of the show was primarily the reason why I could not keep my eyes off the screen. The locations matter, at least they do to me. There is nothing better than a good show that has all these different locations. They can easily build up more suspense and expectancy from the current scene of the episode.

Also, Bates Motel is based on the film ‘Psycho’ which is why it keeps the fans glued to the show. The film is a classic and I must commend the producer(s) and director(s) efforts for creating such a masterminded television series that is a prequel to the original film. Almost every fan anticipates the series’ upcoming plots and what might possibly be delivered to the audience every week.

12-bates-motel

As I mentioned before, the acting in the show is brilliant! Vera Farmiga is a great actress. Having seen her film ‘Orphan’, I believe that she is perfect for the role of Norma Bates. Not to forget Freddie Highmore’s underrated acting skills. Both of these actors have a great mother-son bond in the show.

Bates Motel cannot be categorized as a thriller series. It has some elements of mystery, drama, horror and lots of suspense. The show not only focuses on the lives of Norman and Norma Bates but delivers something new to the audience every week and that is mainly why it is doing so well on television.

I personally believe that Bates Motel is this generation’s ‘Psycho’ and it deserves all the praise it’s worthy of. I am eagerly waiting to see the rest of the show’s seasons. For those of you who have not seen this twisted thriller, I would strongly recommend you see Bates Motel.

Leave a Reply

